Research in nanophotonics and energy conversion in the heart of Munich

who we are


Our Team



Stefan Maier


Stefan holds the Chair in Hybrid Nanosystems in the Faculty of Physics of LMU Munich, and the Lee-Lucas Chair in Experimental Physics at Imperial College London.

In addition to research in fundamental and applied plasmonics and nanophotonics, he focuses very much on people development. While in his group, seven postdocs obtained Marie-Skłodowska-Curie fellowships, three junior research fellowships, and one a Royal Society Research Fellowship. Thirteen alumni of the group went directly on to faculty positions, at École Polytechnique Montréal, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Imperial College London, Hong Kong Poly, Soochow University, IPTH Jena, University of KwaZulu-Natal, CNRS Grenoble, King's College London, University of Oman, University of Birmingham, and LMU Munich.

A graduate from Caltech, Stefan was awarded the Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences and the Paterson Medal of the Institute of Physics. He held a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award and is a fellow of the IoP and the Optical Society of America. For more information see his full curriculum vitae.


Emiliano Cortés

Subgroup leaders

Emiliano holds a W2 tenure-track professorship and is the academic lead of the Plasmonic Chemistry Group. Previously he was a  Marie-Skłodowska-Curie research fellow at Imperial College London.


Yi Li

Yi is an LMU Research Fellow and leads the subgroup on nano-confined photonic and fluidic systems.



Paloma Arroyo-Huidobro

Paloma is a Marie-Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow in theoretical nanophotonics and topology.


Evangelina Pensa

Eva specializes in plasmonic electrochemistry.


Gustavo Grinblat

Gustavo is a Marie-Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow in dielectric nanophotonics.

Sabrina - Picture 4x4 - Color.jpg

Sabrina Simoncelli

Sabrina's research focuses on super-resolution imaging.


Javier Cambiasso

Javier researches light/matter interactions with a focus on quantum nanophotonics.


Julián Gargiulo

Julián works on colloidal plasmonics and surface-enhanced processes.

Michael Nielsen.jpg

Michael Nielsen

Michael studies non-linear processes in nanoplasmonics.


Sylvain Gennaro

Sylvain works on non-linear nanophotonics and plasmonics.

Alex Mellor.jpg

Alex Mellor

Alex's research focuses on photovoltaics of nanostructured solar cells.


Yao-Ting Wang

Yao-Ting works on the theory of topological systems.




Alberto Lauri

Alberto works on innovative trapping and spectroscopy methods of nanomaterials.


Brock Doiron

Brock studies hot electron dynamics in plasmonic materials.


Daniel Glass

Daniel investigates plasmonic nanochemistry with a focus on surface-enhanced phenomena.


Ludwig Hüttenhofer

Ludwig focuses on surface-enhanced catalysis mediated via highly confined photonic modes.


Harriet Walker

Harriet develops innovatives techniques for the deposition of nanomaterials.

Ibrahim GC.JPG

Ibrahim Abdelwahab

A joint student with NUS, Ibrahim studies the fundamental properties of 2D materials.


Matthew Proctor

Matthew investigates plasmonic systems with topological features.

Nicola Black.jpg

Nicola Black

A joint student with NPL, Nicola studies the microwave properties of graphene for sensing.

Rodrigo Berté.jpg

Rodrigo Berté

Rodrigo's research focuses on phonons and photonic modes in dielectric materials.


Xiaofei Xiao

Xiaofeit studies the plasmonic properties of structures with plasmonic and dielectric elements.


Monica Mota

Monica works on quantum light/matter interactions in hybrid nanomaterials.


Nikolas Gusken

Nikolas studies electrical excitation of nanoscale optoelectronic devices.


Thomas Brick

Thomas works on the interplay between fields, heat and charge transfer in nanomaterials.

Ngoc Nguyen.jpg

Ngoc Nguyen

Ngoc's researches semiconductor waveguides incorporating optical gain.


Paul Dichtl

Paul works on the fundamental quantum properties of plasmonic systems.

Viktoryia Shautsova.jpg

Viktoryia Shautsova

Viktoryia studies the dynamics of hybrid plasmonic-graphene systems.


Alumni and their destinations